Who is the longest serving Australian Prime Minister?

The longest-serving prime minister was Robert Menzies, who served in office twice: from 26 April 1939 to 28 August 1941, and again from 19 December 1949 to 26 January 1966. In total Robert Menzies spent 18 years, 5 months and 12 days in office.

Who was Australia’s shortest serving prime minister?

Forde resigned as prime minister on 13 July, after one week in office. He is Australia’s shortest-serving prime minister.

Who served the longest term as prime minister?


No. Name Length of term
Longest continuous term
1 Jawaharlal Nehru 16 years, 286 days
2 Indira Gandhi 11 years, 59 days
3 Manmohan Singh 10 years, 4 days

Who has been the prime minister of Australia the most times?

Number of terms

Robert Menzies and Kevin Rudd both served two separate terms as Prime Minister. If a “term” is defined as a period of office separated by an election, Robert Menzies served the most terms, winning eight terms.

FASCINATINGLY:  Quick Answer: How long does it take to sail from Australia to Japan?

How many Australian prime ministers have served more than once?

While most have only served one term, two Australian Prime Ministers have served twice (Menzies and Rudd), and two others (Deakin and Fisher) served three separate terms. All ministers, including the Prime Minister, are members of the Executive Council.

How long can an Australian prime minister serve?

Choosing the Prime Minister

The Prime Minister can keep their job as long as they are a member of parliament and have the support of the government. Australia has no maximum period of service for a Prime Minister, unlike countries such as the United States, where the President can only serve for two 4-year terms.

Who was the only female prime minister in Australia?

Julia Gillard (27th Prime Minister, 2010–13) is the first female Prime Minister of Australia. No woman has yet served as Leader of the Opposition in the Commonwealth Parliament.

Who is the longest-serving cabinet minister?

Unsourced material may be challenged and removed. Sardar Swaran Singh (19 August 1907 – 30 October 1994) was an Indian politician. He was India’s longest-serving union cabinet minister.

How long did Tony Blair serve as prime minister?

Anthony Charles Lynton Blair (born 6 May 1953) is a British politician who served as Prime Minister of the United Kingdom from 1997 to 2007 and Leader of the Labour Party from 1994 to 2007.

How long did Margaret Thatcher serve?

Margaret Thatcher

The Right Honourable The Baroness Thatcher LG OM DStJ PC FRS HonFRSC
Studio portrait, c. 1995–96
Prime Minister of the United Kingdom
In office 4 May 1979 – 28 November 1990
Monarch Elizabeth II
FASCINATINGLY:  What does an Australian postcode look like?

Who is the Queen of Australia?

Three-quarters of Australia’s 29 prime ministers (22) were born in Australia. Of those born overseas, all but one came from the United Kingdom (England, Scotland or Wales). The only non-British overseas-born Prime Minister was Chris Watson, who was born in Chile and raised in New Zealand.

Who were the last 10 prime ministers of Australia?

Prime Ministers

  • Scott Morrison. Liberal. 3 years, 125 days. 2018. …
  • Malcolm Turnbull. Liberal. 2 years, 344 days. …
  • Tony Abbott. Liberal. 1 year, 363 days. …
  • Julia Gillard. Labor. 3 years, 4 days. …
  • Kevin Rudd. Labor. 2 years, 289 days. …
  • John Howard. Liberal. 11 years, 268 days. …
  • Paul Keating. Labor. 4 years, 83 days. …
  • Bob Hawke. Labor. 8 years, 285 days.

Which 3 Australian prime ministers died in office?

Of those who have served as the nation’s prime minister, two died in office (Joseph Lyons and John Curtin), one was dismissed (Gough Whitlam), one disappeared (Harold Holt), and six resigned following leadership spills (John Gorton, Bob Hawke, Kevin Rudd, Julia Gillard, Tony Abbott, and Malcolm Turnbull).

How many female prime ministers have there been in Australia?

A total of twelve women have served, or are serving, as the head of an Australian government. Of these, one has served as the prime minister of Australia, six as the premier of a state and four as the chief minister of a territory.

When was Billy McMahon Prime Minister of Australia?

Sir William McMahon GCMG CH (23 February 1908 – 31 March 1988) was an Australian politician who served as the 20th Prime Minister of Australia, in office from 1971 to 1972 as leader of the Liberal Party. He was a government minister for over 21 years, the longest continuous ministerial service in Australian history.

FASCINATINGLY:  What guns did Australia use in ww2?